how to be Mindy: have awesome parents

Ada yang suka nonton the Mindy Project nggak sih, selain saya dan Okki?

mindy-project

Kok so far belom nemu ya, orang Indonesia (paling ga yg di sekitar saya) yang doyan sama serial satu ini. Semoga bukan karena lead actress-nya nggak conventionally beautiful yah (which is a pretty lame excuse, of course). The Mindy Project memang nggak perfect sih, tapi tetep salah satu serial komedi favorit saya di TV, karena dialog2 dan one-linernya yang witty, hilarious, dan sangat relatable.

chubby

Plus, siapa sih yang nggak bakal jatuh cinta sama dr. Danny Castellano?

Nah, gara2 suka sama serial ini, tentunya saya juga jadi ngefans sama the girl behind it, Mindy Kaling. I love how despite being a woman of color, she managed to be the youngest writer (at the age of 24) and one of the casts in The Office, wrote her own bestselling book, and finally created her own show. Damn isn’t she powerful?

My favorite part is that Mindy largely addresses her success to her parents, especially her mother, with whom she had a very close relationship.

And her mom’s awesome advice:

My relationship with my mom is really the single most profound relationship that I’ve ever had in my life,” Mindy tells me…But her voice breaks when she starts talking about how she sat down with a pen and paper and asked her mother to give her all the advice she could possibly give her before she died, and Kaling realized she’d never be able to ask her mother for advice again. “I said to her, ‘Mom, I’m going to be so lonely without you.’” She’s crying now but keeps going. “And she just said, ‘You have to be your own best friend. If you always remember that, you will always have someone there with you.’

Mindy just shows how far it can go when parenting’s done right.

I hope I can be the best parent, friend, and partner, for my kids one day. I hope I can convince him/her that he/she is soo loved, and that he/she deserves everything that a tall blonde white man could have 😉

Leave a Reply

