Welcoming 27

Inspired by this ’30 Things Every Woman Should Have and Should Know by the Time She’s 30’ article, here’s my own list of what I have known by the time I’m 27. Well I won’t be 27 until some more days, but judging from how many thoughts had flewn  away unrecorded just because I didn’t have the time to write, I’d better do it now 🙂

17 things I have known by the time I’m 27:

  1. That God must come first, in any given situation.
  2. People who are in my closest circle and that they deserve my first priority of attention.
  3. My daily little impulses and inclinations, which ones to follow and which ones (with hard work) to avoid and ignore.
  4. That I can forgive myself better to fail in achieving something rather than not giving my best effort in trying to achieve it.
  5. That pain and uncomfortable feelings and conditions sometimes are unavoidable, but they are bearable, and they will pass, most of the times very quickly.
  6. That there are people with whom I can naturally be comfortable with, and there are people with whom I can’t, and there’s nothing wrong with that.
  7. That to share, and be nice to others are actually giving and being nice to myself. To love others is loving myself.
  8. That to have a good laugh every now and then is healthy and necessary.
  9. That good things come with hard work.
  10. That every people I meet are fabulous: either they are adults with more than 20 years of experience and stories, children with pure and original thoughts and point of view, or in between. And I can learn so much from each of them as long as I keep my mind opened.
  11. That everyone is fighting their own battle, therefore envy is irrelevant. Plus, to be nice and supportive to each other is a necessity.
  12. That there are always two sides of a story. Never ever judge so easily.
  13. That I (like everybody else) am precious the way I am and nobody should ever be able to make me think otherwise.
  14. That growing up means having more control in the controllable, which is my own self. Only myself.
  15. That growing up also means to learn from every moment we have lived, including the brightest and the darkest ones.
  16. That we can’t hurry the good things to happen quickly. They will come when we’re ready and deserve it already.
  17. What my passion is.

And to wrap up, here are some quotes that I agree wholeheartedly:

“Everything has a purpose, even machines. Clocks tell the time, trains take you places. They do what they’re meant to do, like Monsieur Labisse. Maybe that’s why broken machines make me so sad, they can’t do what they’re meant to do. Maybe it’s the same with people. If you lose your purpose, it’s like you’re broken.”

The Invention of Hugo Cabret – Brian Selznick

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

If there’s any secret ingredient to live a life without regret, that must be it. Love. To do things that you love, and to do things that you might not love that much with a lot of love. It’s about seeing people that you love happy and content. It’s about radiating the love inside of you, which in turn will make people around you feel accepted and comfortable. You do not judge. You do not compare. You do not count. You have no fixed plans. You seize the day and grab the opportunity. You never wish that you said ‘hello’ because you always do. You connect. You smile. You laugh. You flow. You love. You live.

Hanny Kusumawati – www.beradadisini.com

Welcoming 27. I feel great J

AlhamduliLlaahi Rabbil ‘Aalamiin..

BismiLlaahir Rahmaanir Rahiim..

Leave a Reply

